Thought I would share with you one of the artists whose work has inspired my own.  Beili Liu is Chinese artist who now lives and works in Austin, Texas. She is a multidisciplinary artist, working with time and process based installations exploring cultural specificity and overlaps, conflicting and confluent forces and transient and persistent energy.  She uses everyday materials such as thread, wood, paper etc that have a fragility.

I particularly like this Lure Series which is based on the ancient Chinese legend of the red thread that tells that when children are born invisible red threads connect them to the ones whom they are fated to be with.  Over the years they become closer and closer until finally they find each other.Beili Liu

Check out Beili Liu’s website to see this and the other works she has created (I also like her Bound 2 work).  I love the idea that we are linked, connected in some way and I like the way that thread is the symbol for this invisible link.

My own work is progressing albeit slowly.  Had an IT lesson yesterday on Final Cut Pro – a step up from the Imovie of the animations!  Think I need a bit more practice but already I can see how the finished video will look and sound and this helps with visualising and hearing how the actual installation will work.

Am going to record some more sounds and literary extracts at the weekend.  A very kind Yorkshire born gentleman has agreed to read them and I hope that his accent really brings to life the gritty nature of the Midland/Yorkshire/Lancashire Mills.  Once I get these recordings the sounds will really start to become the main focus – just have to work out how to add them to Final Cut  –  but then again, I do know a very helpful IT  technician and as I said in my previous post ‘it’s amazing what help people will give if you ask nicely……’

