My blog has fallen silent lately, not I hasten to add because I haven’t been doing anything, but because I have either been trying to source material and equipment and also because what I have done all takes time!! Have once again been in contact with Sir Richard Arkwright’s Masson Mills, Working Textile Museum, who have kindly agreed to loan me 350 bobbins – which I am due to collect this coming Sunday.  That’s one weight off my mind – if I couldn’t have sourced these bobbins, I would have to have had a serious rethink about the installation!  I am also due to attend a meeting this afternoon about the possibility of the installation being exhibited in October – will keep you posted as to how the meeting turns out.

Over Easter a colleague of my husband agreed to record some more of the sound tracks for me.  He is from Yorkshire and therefore has more of the type of accent I wanted for some of the readings.  I am now in the process of inserting the soundtracks into the virtual 3D video of the installation. Once again a big thank you to CS – that’s another load off my mind.

As you may have noticed from earlier postings, I do quite like the machines in the textile mills – I like the contrast between the industrial machinery and the thread/cloth it produced and I wanted to try and reflect this somehow. Although I accept that time, technology and innovation moves on, I do feel it’s a shame that today’s machinery focuses on functionality (again I do understand why – I am not a total Luddite!) – some of the older machinery was so ornate and beautifully crafted.  I wanted to try and recreate an aesthetically pleasing piece that paid homage to the craftsmanship of the past, the grittiness of the machinery and the delicacy of the thread – at the same time utilising the technology of today.  This is the piece I came up with. DSCN1792 It is based on an outline drawing of a spinning mule, that has been plotted using AutoCAD and then laser cut from a sheet of metal. (Thanks to everyone who helped me with this!)  At the moment I am undecided as to what to do with the finish of the piece; leave it as it is, start to rust it as a reflection of the fact that this machinery is becoming obsolete…  I also think it would be interesting to play around with the positive and negative images as well as the shadows it creates.  So much to do, so little time!!

