Well at the weekend I collected 350 bobbins of various sizes and materials; some wooden, some plastic, some cardboard, some with thread on – you get the picture!  Good job they are not heavy or the car would have complained! Actually having the bobbins here, albeit in a pile, really makes the installation feel more real – and it certainly hits home about how much work is involved in suspending each and every one of the bobbins.

This week has seen me grappling with the issue of copyright. To make sure I don’t infringe any laws when playing the recordings of the extracts and poems I contacted our university advisor on such matters – she has been a great help. The long and the short of it is that as long as the author has been dead for more than 70 years then there is no issue; if not you have to obtain their permission.  So I have been emailing people and so far so good; only one person hasn’t replied.  Although it has been time consuming it is a good learning curve and something I will be much more aware of in the future.

Amidst all the backwards and forwards, collecting bobbins, emailing etc. it was lovely on Saturday just to get out in the countryside, in the sunshine to recharge the batteries and put all thoughts of assessment and degree shows to the back of my mind…set me up nicely for another week!

Peak District

