It is the 1st of May and the days are disappearing at an alarming rate! Less than a month to go and tensions are beginning to rise.  So much to organise, but I am slowly beginning to cross jobs off from my ‘to do’ list. The last remaining person I contacted asking for their permission to include their poem in my installation has replied in the affirmative – tick! After another IT workshop the 3D virtual animation (with sound) is now finished and burned to Blu-Ray – tick! Measurements taken for the fixing steelworks taken – tick! Artists statement started – half a tick!

Image converted using ifftoanyStill trying to finalise audio equipment, and the slow progress is beginning to make me a little worried  as is the fact that, try as I might to prepare as much as possible beforehand, I know that installation week will be hectic to say the least. Decisions as to what else, if any of my other pieces, will be included in the exhibition have yet to be made – and if I do include them, where will I put them?  I don’t want the space to be cluttered, I want the bobbin installation to be the focus obviously,and yet I still want the spinning mule and photographs somewhere…Decisions, decisions – it’s enough to give you a headache!

On a less stressful note, I came across this work by Dawn Ng.  Such a simple idea, but so effective.  Paper Planes 2I like its apparent fragility and the way the light and the shadows work. Lighting is a consideration for my piece and it would be really good to have spotlights above the bobbins casting shadows but you have to work with what there is…fluorescent lighting! It is however, a consideration for further exhibitions.

Saw this quote by the Dalai Lama XIV and thought it might be something to keep in mind these next few weeks: “If there is not solution to the problem then don’t waste time worrying about it.  If there is a solution to the problem then don’t waste time worrying about it.”

