After a very hard week last week I am pleased to announce that Connecting Threads is fully installed and operational! It was extremely tiring installing the work and there were a few times when I thought I had taken on a bit too much for the time we had – but long hours and persistence paid off. Getting the DSCN1799tower scaffold in was definitely worth it – it was much easier working from the platform than balancing precariously from a step ladder (and easier on my knees!).  Once the steel work and cables were in place everything went relatively smoothly, if a little repetitively, until it came to checking the audio.  Out of the 12 speakers 4 didn’t work when initially switched on – even though I had checked them at home. This meant a lot of back-tracking trying to isolate the problem which turned out to be faulty cables – note to self for the future ‘Don’t try to penny pinch on certain things!’  This resulted in a rather frantic Friday rather than the relatively calm one I had planned. However, putting all the stress of last week to one side, I am pleased with how the installation, with all the accompanying photographs, videos and maquettes, has turned out and feel it has achieved my initial concept.DSC_0788

The laser-cut mild steel sculpture was fixed to an external wall and has already begun to rust.  I named it Obsolescence as these machines are now becoming obsolete in the industry apart from a few niche areas – and hopefully the fact that this piece is rusting will portray this.

DSC_0797

Are there things I would change? Mmm…possibly, but more on the installation side rather than the conceptual or aesthetic side.

I can’t end this post without saying a huge thank you to the people who helped me bring Connecting Threads to life – Hayley and Victoria, thank you for all your help, advice and encouragement last week; all the technical staff again, many thanks for answering all my many questions and providing endless assistance.  Finally, to the one person without whom the last six years wouldn’t have been possible – thank you for all the love and support you have given to help me achieve my dream!DSC_0787DSC_0790

