Youdhi SwayambhuWhilst trying to sort out the ‘study’ i.e. throwing out old (and when I say old I mean from my 1st and 2nd years at uni) papers along with old info from uni and deleting bits and pieces from the computer, I couldn’t help but have a nosy on a favourite website of mine – mymodernmet – it has some fabulous images of artworks and other inspirational subjects from across the globe. One of my recent favourites is this work by Nepalese artist Youdhi called Swayambhu.  I thought Connecting Threads was laborious to install but this looks on a whole other level – consisting as it does of 9 miles of hand-twisted newspaper rope! The fact that it looks like balls of yarn is what drew me to the piece in the first place as well as the juxtaposition of the ‘yarn’ made out of paper placed in amongst the trees –  well worth a look. Oh well, back to sorting out…

