Travelling along the M1 last Friday afternoon, the traffic was awful and as the weather was warming up, it didn’t make for a pleasant journey…not that is, until we hit the Derbyshire Dales. Covered in a lush patchwork of various shades of green, the Dales were at their magnificent best and the stone built cottages with their colourful hanging baskets and gardens just added to the beauty of the area. The sun was beating down when we arrived at Cromford Mill for my meeting with the events organiser.  Even though it was a Friday afternoon, there was still a number of people enjoying the sunshine, eating the obligatory ice-creams and soaking up the atmosphere and history of the place.

I had arranged the meeting mainly so that I could have another look inside the First Mill, take some measurements/photos and finalise some details. Although the interior resembles a building site, DSC_0948(there is an archaeological dig taking place at one end and the inevitable ongoing conservation work) I still got that buzz of excitement (and terror, I have to admit) that my work was going to be on show in such a fantastic space! Whilst my very supportive husband duly took the said measurements etc. I clarified a few details with the organiser – not least of which were confirming dates and times for the ‘Meet The Artist’ sessions. All in all it was worth the journey up there – although we had a cup of tea, not an ice-cream! Now just have to organise things and complete funding application…

