Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday was spent visiting the Pop Art to Brit Art Exhibition at the Lakeside in Nottingham in the company of some friends I hadn’t seen for a while. It was great to catch up and swap all our news and hear about their plans to open Blue Owl Art at the Grantham Tennis Club – can’t wait for the grand opening ladies!!

The above exhibition at the Lakeside is the first public exhibition for this privately owned collection of late twentieth century and contemporary art. Since 2003 David Ross, probably best known as the co-founder of Carphone Warehouse, has pursued his passion for art, particularly that produced during his own lifetime. Around 50 artworks from the 1960s to 2010 are on show, and are, in the main, by major British artists – Sir Peter Blake, Bridget Riley, David Hockney, Richard Hamilton, Gavin Turk, Marc Quinn and Damien Hirst – just to name drop!! It is staggering to think that all these pieces belong to one person.

This collection contains some of the most radical and visionary works of the period. I was drawn to the Bridget Riley works – I had researched her work during my second year at uni – and I particularly like the way her pieces alter your perception – and make your eyes go funny! I also liked the drawings by Frank Auerbach, the colours in Howard Hodgkin’s work and the Mario Testino portraits. Here’s a link to a slideshow! Some of us have favourite songs that remind us of times in our lives; Ross seems to have collected artworks to serve the same purpose!

I am continuing with the drawing exercises and the latest one involves closing your eyes and using your non-dominant hand to produce a self-portrait by feeling your face and making marks accordingly. Mmm, promise I don’t look like this in real life!!! It was however great fun and it made me laugh – I am remembering not to be precious about the work and most importantly I am enjoying myself and surely that’s the main thing!

Carolyn J RobertsCarolyn J /roberts

Carolyn J Roberts

