Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My blog is like buses at the moment, nothing for ages and then two posts in as many days!

Having produced and delivered work for the ‘Making A Mark’ exhibition later this month at Blue Owl Art (based at The Grantham Tennis Club), I felt the need to move away from only drawing trees!

A childhood spent living on a farm riding ponies in rural Lincolnshire has left me with a love of the great outdoors. Much as I love visiting big cities and enjoying all they have to offer, I can’t wait to get back to the green fields, woods, trees, birdsong…you get the picture!

So, in an attempt to seek new horizons, I decided to have a go at not only drawing the trees, but the surrounding countryside as well! Landscapes are not something I have done a lot of, so this is a bit of a departure for me to say the least!

Two areas of the UK that particularly inspire me are Dumfries and Galloway and the Yorkshire Dales; so I decided to work some of the watercolour sketches I did whilst visiting these parts into more finished pieces. This first one is of Wharfedale. Having ‘rediscovered’ charcoal whilst drawing the trees, I thought I would try to produce a landscape in charcoal, if only to help me see the different tonal values.

WharfedaleThese next two are of Auchencairn, a very beautiful, peaceful place in Dumfries and Galloway. Having produced a charcoal version, I decided to have a go in pastels – taking artistic liberties with the colours because it was quite a dull, grey day when we visited – it was March after all!

AuchencairnAuchencairn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like all artists, I am my own worst critic, humming and haaing(!) as to whether they are okay, are they finished – you know the drill I’m sure!!

Regardless of whether I mount, frame, exhibit or, gosh, sell any, I have enjoyed producing these and feel this is an area I will continue to develop.

The PV for Making A Mark is the 19th September 7-9pm.

