Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

To say it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything is perhaps an understatement!! For reasons I don’t want to dwell on, the latter half of 2015 and early part of this year, was a difficult time and thoughts of art, drawing and painting were not foremost in my mind.

However, time is a great healer and life goes on……and I have tentatively started to paint again, albeit only in a sketchbook.

I have been spending a lot of time in West Wales, in a tiny village called New Quay, Ceredigion. Quiet during the winter, the population swells during the summer months with holidaymakers drawn here by the sandy beaches, rocky coves, spectacular coastal walks as well as the hills, valleys and verdant lanes to walk along.

 

New Quay, CeredigionMisty morning in New Quay

Rock pools, Cei BachSunset, Cei BachI have been drawn to a small beach, Cei Bach, that looks out across Cardigan Bay, along the coast to Aberaeron and Aberystwyth. It has the most fabulous sunsets!!

Travels through Wales have also taken me through Snowdonia and the wonderful mountain landscapes. All this super scenery provided me with some much needed encouragement to pick up my pencils, charcoal and paintbrushes……

SnowdoniaBala

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ridges

Even managed to dig out the watercolours – Daniel Smith – gorgeous, surprisingly thick paints! I do seem to have a thing for the edges; coastal views – the line between sea and land, hill tops,…..

Wet DaysLooking to the hillsDreaming of sunsets

There is also a fabulous ridge of windswept trees…that I tried to capture using charcoal and ink…..

Windswept

which I had printed as a card, along with a couple of other doodles….

Cards

My final image for this post is a watercolour – Sunset at Cei Bach…..a beautiful place to sit…….

Sunset at Cei Bach

So that’s just a brief update….I promise not to leave it so long next time!!

