Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As with life, some days are good and some are not so good…and so it is with my efforts to improve my watercolour skills!!

As ever I started my session with my 3 washes (as per Jean Haines teachings..)

imageimageApart from the Violet in the top wash all the rest are Daniel Smith watercolours. Along with the Violet I used Mayan Blue to create a quiet, calm wash. The bottom left wash is Rich Green Gold combined with Cascade Green and cling film effects, whilst the remaining wash is Indigo and Perinone Orange (which didn’t combine at all well) …and the ever troublesome salt. I dropped water on top of the salt which really pushed the pigment aside…

I then decided to paint on top off one of the washes I created yesterday…

imageand initially it went well….

imageI could see flowers emerging….

imageand here, I think, the trouble started. My flower shapes became confused between sweet peas and tulips…..that will teach me to paint with no subject in front of me. I also think I was too tentative with my colour, only going in with pale washes and lots of water…. I then thought, blow it, go in bold and…..

imageBy this stage I had used so much water in so many layers that I was ruining the surface of the rough watercolour paper…. I have therefore put this attempt to one side; maybe I will look again tomorrow and see if anything can be salvaged.

Needing to finish the day on a good note I returned to the rose washes I had started…

imageI added the smallest details….which, unless you look closely, you probably won’t notice… but I realised I was ‘fiddling’ and in danger of losing the freshness of the initial wash so I …..put my paint brushes down….

imageimageEven if these don’t immediately scream ‘roses’, I am quite happy with my efforts…and feel I have a good idea where to start tomorrow!

I no longer feel so downhearted when my attempts don’t work because I now realise that good or bad, I am learning all the time…and that can only be a good thing!!

