Tags

, ,

Following on from the previous post about playing and procrastinating…..this morning I woke up, still determined to play but with the knowledge that experimenting is not to be considered time wasting; every time you make a mark, a splodge or a daub, you learn from it…..what works, what doesn’t….what’s worth taking further, what’s not. The lovely artist Mari French helped me to realise this!

I challenged myself to produce 6 quick studies within twenty minutes, no fiddling or faffing, or, in one or two of them, not a lot of thought……

imageimage

Some were more interesting than others….

Loved the colours in this ink doodle….while I thought the watercolour washes in my so called ‘Fenland Scene’ (top right) were a bit faded….

image

Quite liking the ethereal nature of this…..

image

…and although this one below doesn’t really work. I like the textural results the tissue paper provides….

image

I like some of the marks in this one….

image

All in all, quite a useful way to spend twenty minutes…..

 

 

