Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am finding myself more and more inspired by nature, the landscape itself and by the language and writings concerning the natural world. I have recently finished reading ‘Meadowland: the private life of an English field’ by John Lewis-Stempel, and this book introduced me to the writings and poems of Thomas Traherne (1636 – 1674), an English, poet, religious writer and theologian. Traherne wrote about his spiritual discoveries in ‘Centuries of Mediations’, and the following excerpt, highlighted in ‘Meadowland’ really resonated with me –

‘You never enjoy the world aright till the sea itself flows in your veins, till you are clothed with the heavens and crowned with the stars, till you so love the beauty of enjoying it you are earnest to persuade others to enjoy it too.’

Although I am an avid used of social media, I find myself more and more, longing to be out in the landscape, to reconnect with what is really important….and to that end I have recently spent the weekend in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park – partly a birthday celebration, partly time ‘to stand and stare’….

…and although I am not presumptuous enough to imagine my artistic efforts will persuade others to enjoy the landscape, I hope, in some small way, they convey my love for the natural world.

 

