Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of those mornings where you are waiting for the telephone engineer….you know the sort…’they will be with you some time between 8.00am and 1.00pm’…. I find it hard to settle when I know that, at some point, I am going to be interrupted …so I decided to make myself some watercolour swatches a la artist Ken Hurd’s tip…a pick up/put down sort of task…

I have seen the square colour charts before but the idea of making swatches of the colours seemed a much easier way to choose colours and see which ones harmonised better…so obvious, makes me wonder why I didn’t think of it earlier…

I  used St.Cuthbert’s Mill  (I just can’t seem to get this link to work)Saunders Waterford 140lb NOT watercolour paper for the swatches, writing the make and shade on the back….

It’s also a useful way of making me see what watercolours I really have….if you are anything like me, you have some favourite shades that you use all the time, and then there the other tubes you bought on a whim and never seem to use for one reason or another…I might actually get round to using some of them now…..

….and guess what, the telephone engineer has just called to say he is running late, and he won’t be with me until later this afternoon……might just go and watch some more paint dry……

