Tags

, , , , , ,

The Bright Field

I have seen the sun break through

to illuminate a small field

for a while, and gone my way

and forgotten it. But that was the pearl

of great price, the one field that had

treasure in it. I realise now

that I must give all that I have

to possess it. Life is not hurrying

 

on to a receding future, nor hankering after

an imagined past. It is the turning

aside like Moses to the miracle

of the lit bush, to a brightness

that seemed as transitory as your youth

once, but it is the eternity that awaits you.

R.S. Thomas

 Although Thomas’s poem is concerned with how he saw God all around him, for me, it is that idea of standing and looking, particularly at the everyday things, the little things that often go overlooked, taking time to appreciate what I have, not always rushing to the next thing…. So reminiscent of  W.H. Davies’s work ‘Leisure’..

What is this life, if full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs

And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,

Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,

Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,

And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can

Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this, if, full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.

 Today I am noting the little things…and trying to paint hints of them..

…from the ubiquitous buddleia…to blueberries (yes, that is what the above are based on…) …need a bit more work but I am trying to be more patient, standing and staring…well okay, sitting and staring, but you get the idea….

 

 

